Douglas County Oregon Government Portal Justice Court
Douglas County Oregon Government Portal
Search Site Map Home Community Links
  Departments Online Information Codes & Policies Employment About  
Justice Court Home
Reedsport Fine Payments
Fee Schedules
Small Claims
Other Links
Justice Courts
  There are two Justice Courts in Douglas County. These courts have jurisdiction to handle traffic offenses, violations, small claims, civil suits, FED cases (landlord-tenant evictions), and criminal cases up to a Class A misdemeanor. In addition, Justice Courts may hold preliminary hearings, issue arrest and search warrants, and conduct felony arraignments. Justice Courts do not handle felony cases, nor do they deal with libel, slander, or disputes over title to property. Civil cases heard by the Justice Courts involve disputes between parties, and are limited up to sums of $10,000. (Effective Oct 1, 2011.)   A Justice of the Peace may also perform marriage ceremonies anywhere in the State of Oregon.

The Justice of the Peace is in charge of the Justice Court and is elected for a six-year term by voters in the justice district. There are two justice districts in Douglas County with courts in Canyonville, and Reedsport. Justices of the Peace must be registered voters in the County in which they are elected, but they are not required to be attorneys.

Justice Courts possess the same scope of responsibility as the former State District Courts. The primary function of Justice Courts is to relieve case load pressure from the Circuit Courts in Roseburg, and to serve the outlying areas of the County. Justice Courts are not State Courts as they are funded by the County.
Justice of the Peace
Judge Machelle Briggs-Mayfield
PO Box 376
Canyonville, OR 97417
Judge Kathleen Miller
680 Fir St
Reedsport, OR 97467
Fax: (541)271-4869



Douglas County Web sites provide general information and services. Information and linked sites have not been reviewed. The completeness, timeliness and availability of data are not known. Links and references to other sites are not endorsements. Douglas County is not liable for any damages that may result from use of this site.