Douglas County Oregon Government Portal Commission on Children & Families
Douglas County Oregon Government Portal
Search Site Map Home Community Links
  Departments Online Information Codes & Policies Employment About Bid Documents



Douglas County Local Public Safety Council

In 1997, Oregon lawmakers enacted legislation that required counties to convene local public safety coordinating councils (LPSCC) that would, at a minimum, develop and recommend to the County Board of Commissioners a plan for the use of state resources to serve the local offender population, and state and local resources to serve the needs of that part of the local offender population who are at least 15 years of age and less than 18 years of age. The plan must provide for coordination of community-wide services involving prevention, treatment, education, employment resources and intervention strategies. LPSCC's are also charged with coordinating local criminal justice policy among affected criminal justice entities.  For more information, please refer to the Oregon Criminal Justice Commission's website.

Douglas County's Public Safety Council is chaired by Gillian Wesenberg of the Douglas County Commission on Children and Families.  Members include the following:

Council Members

Title and Organization

Joe Laurance

Commissioner, Douglas County

Jim Burge

Police Chief, City of Roseburg

Don Brown

Police Chief, City of Myrtle Creek

John Hanlin

Sheriff, Douglas County

Rick Wesenberg

District Attorney, Douglas County

Randy Garrison

Judge, Douglas County Circuit Court

Dan Bouck

Public Defender

Allen Boice

Oregon Department of Corrections

Aric Fromdahl

Director, Douglas County  Juvenile Department

Peggy Madison

Director, Douglas County Health and Social Services

Sharon Harrison

Mayor, City of Winston

Douglas Ladd

Oregon State Police

Robyn Jacobson

District Supervisor, Oregon Youth Authority

Bruce Piper

Executive Director, ADAPT

Steve Schenewerk Pastor, Community Baptist Church
Lisa Lewis District Manager, Department of Human Services

Gillian Wesenberg

Director, Commission on Children & Families


2006 Agendas and Minutes

February14 Agenda          Minutes
March 21 Agenda          Minutes
May 17 Agenda          Minutes   
October 31   Agenda          Minutes

2007 Agendas and Minutes

June 12 Agenda          Minutes

2008 Agendas and Minutes

January 16 Agenda          Minutes




Council Staff

Council Chair:

Gillian Wesenberg, Director of the Commission on Children & Families


Commission Staff


1036 SE Douglas, Rm 7 Roseburg, OR  97470

Phone: 541-957-4622

Fax:  541-957-4648